Home Contact

Plenary Speakers

Frank Koppens, Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO)

Nano-lego for light with (twisted) 2D materials

Prof. Frank Koppens obtained his PhD in experimental physics at Delft University, at the Kavli Institute of Nanoscience, The Netherlands. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard University, since August 2010, Koppens is a group leader at the Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO). The quantum nano-optoelectronics group of Prof. Koppens focuses on both science and technology of novel two-dimensional materials and quantum materials. Koppens has received five ERC awards: the ERC starting grant, the ERC consolidator grant, and three ERC proof-of-concept grants. Other awards include the Christiaan Hugyensprijs 2012, the national award for research in Spain, and the IUPAP young scientist prize in optics.

Jérôme Faist, ETH Zurich

Phonon-polariton lasers: optical and Raman emission

Jérôme Faist obtained his Ph.D. in Physics the Swiss Institute of Technology in Lausanne in 1989. After a post-doc in IBM Rueschlikon (89-91), he joined Federico Capasso's group in Bell Laboratories in 1991 where he worked first as a post-doc and then as a Member of Technical Staff. From 1997 to 2007, he was professor in the physics institute of the University of Neuchâtel. In 2007, he became professor in the institute for quantum electronics of the ETH Zurich. His central role in the invention and first demonstration of the quantum cascade (QC) laser in 1994 was recognized by the IEE premium (1995), the IEEE/LEOS William Streifer award (1998), the Michael Lunn award (1999), the ISCS "Young scientist award" (1999), and the Swiss National Latsis Prize (2003). His present interests are the development of high performance QC lasers in the Mid and Far-infrared and the physics of coherence in intersubband transitions in the presence of strong magnetic fields.

Tutorial Speaker

Alessandro Tredicucci, Università di Pisa

When light is more than a perturbation: what are intersubband polaritons? And how can we use them?

Invited Speakers

Mercedeh Khajavikhan, CREOL, University of Central Florida

Topological Phenomena in Active Photonics Platform

Iacopo Carusotto, INO-CNR BEC Center and Dipartimento di Fisica, Universita' di Trento

Intersubband polaritons: new perspectives towards Bose-Einstein condensation, quantum fluids of light, and quantum optics

Alexei Baranov, IES, Université de Montpellier

Quantum Cascade Lasers Grown on Silicon

Christoph Lange, Universität Regensburg

Subcycle dynamics of ultrastrongly light-matter coupled structures

David Ting, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Type-II superlattice unipolar barrier infrared detectors

Alex McLeod, Columbia University

Nano-imaging and polaritons in tunable Moiré-superlattice graphene layers

Qianchun Weng, RIKEN

Terahertz nanoscopy of non-equilibrium carrier dynamics: A thermometric approach

Michael Gensch, Technische Universität Berlin and German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Terahertz High Harmonic Generation in Dirac Materials

Ileana-Cristina Benea-Chelmus, ETH Zurich

Electric field correlation measurements on the electromagnetic vacuum state

Benedikt Schwarz, Technische Universität Wien (TU Vienna)

Towards monolithic and battery driven mid-infrared dual-comb spectrometers